#MapMOOC Lesson 2 Map Assignment


This week’s assignment for Coursera‘s class entitled “Maps and the Geospatial Revolution”, we were asked to observe change between US Topographical maps and satellite imagery. I struggled a bit to find something that interested me. Toying with various parts of Ogden and Salt Lake City, Utah, I moved to my wife’s native city, Green Bay, Wisconsin.

It was here that I remembered that the interchange of US 41 and WI 32 was beeing massively reconstructed. The old diamond interchange was being virtually blown apart. In its place will be a huge fly-over interchange costing hundreds of millions of dollars. Also part of this project is something that’s rather unique and cutting edge:  superstreet intersections a bit further west on WI 32. Wisconsin DOT is choosing not to signalize these intersections like is commonly done, so it’ll be interesting to see how it functions once the project is completed.

Anyhow, this got me to thinking — I don’t really know anything about this project other than what I’ve seen on local Green Bay news stations whilst visiting the in-laws. I’m in the civil engineering field in Pennsylvania, so why not find one of my projects?!

And so I did.

Behold, my map of the US 15/PA 581 Interchange Improvement Project. No further explanation should be needed. Check out the map:

View Larger Map

This entry was posted in Footsteps on Concrete and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Conversation

